“You keep my soul in a dungeon.”

Published by

on

Louvre Dungeons
“Insanity is relative. It depends on who has who locked in what cage.” ~Ray Bradbury

The Universe sends us signs reminding us to stay on track, to not venture away from our internal struggles, thoughts, and feelings.

Two nights ago, I desperately wanted to lose myself in a movie instead of reading. (The novel I am reading has reached a place that disturbs and hits close to home.)
I scanned Netflix and discovered “Stone,” a 2010 DeNiro film also starring Edward Norton and Milla Jovovich. I immediately hit “Play.”

The first line uttered is “You keep my soul in a dungeon.” Wow! In my search to find relief from the book I was reading, I fell into the same “familiar.” There was no escaping the obdurate, incessant messages from the Universe.

You can laugh at that; that’s okay. But think about the last uncomfortable situation, experience, or behaviour you wanted to delete, to erase from your thoughts completely. Could you do it? Why do you suppose you couldn’t? I say it’s the stubborness of our consciences that keep us from remaining in the dark and fooling ourselves for all eternity.

But, I guess, if you don’t have a conscience, if you don’t have empathy, if you don’t have a desire to become a better person and learn from your mistakes and the mistakes of those in your life, well, you are probably completely lost by this posting and are probably thinking, “This bitch is nuts!”

“Insanity is relative. It depends on who has who locked in what cage.”
~Ray Bradbury

5 responses to ““You keep my soul in a dungeon.””

  1. Cindy Gay Avatar

    That’s why I scrapbook, so I can keep my mind off of the unpleasant worrisome things (though I never forget the bad or selfish thing I might have done). Love DeNiro films. . . will have to watch that one. I love your blog header too! You have some great pictures I see on Facebook you could use here too. And thank you for the comment on my blog. I’d be honored if you ever want to post anything of mine.

    Like

    1. Paula Reeves-Carrasquillo Avatar

      Yes. And that’s why I write and read everything I can. I also enrolled in a video production course and hope to add some interesting “Man-on-the-street” stuff. Maybe I’ll interview you about scrapbooking. 🙂

      Like

  2. Kristy Avatar
    Kristy

    A guru said our conscience is the true religion. I believe we may trust our hearts, but only insofar as our overiding intentions are rooted in compassion. While we have a consciousness akin to simultaneously having one foot in the transcendent whole and the other foot in our own, separate individuation, our conscience is healthy. When we fall too far out of balance either way, either to space out in oneness or loose the forest for the trees in materialistic definition, we fall off the rainbow path. At those times, our hearts may lead us astray. Whom do you serve? Why? What drives them? Is it compassion? Nice quote. I love Ray Bradbury’s writing! I would also consider the cages we put ourselves into as potentially safe zones in a world where monsters, very real, both seen & unseen, lurk. For example, during wars past, locked in jail has sometimes proven the safest place to be.

    Like

    1. Paula Reeves-Carrasquillo Avatar

      Thanks for commenting, Kristy. The “cage” definitely has many meanings. The film illustrates many of these things you mention. I wouldn’t say it’s a great movie, but it affected me in some of its moments.

      Like

  3. Kimberley Avatar

    Oh, I love your post. I also believe in the power of the universe and that your thought will have a boomerang effect.

    Like