Wish Tree in The Sculpture Garden

I was given a chance to make a wish today.

It honestly never fails. Just when I want to give up believing that goodness truly exists in this world, I am sent reminders that I shouldn’t give up. Not yet, anyhow.

Friday evening, I received messages from two women who stumbled upon my blog and were moved enough to purchase my book. They just wanted to thank me and let me know I had given them hope and a reason not to feel alone. One woman described me as someone with “spunk.” I liked that. It sure beats being called crazy or someone who refuses to let go. I am spunky, lively, and spirited. Yes! All of those things I thought had eluded to be.

Saturday evening, I shared my Washington Times article with my mother. She was so happy. She has seen me struggle over the past 18 months with reclaiming my voice and couldn’t wait to share my column link for Living Inside Out Loud with her friends and co-workers. Nothing beats making Mom proud no matter how old we are.

Snake head - Ai Weiwei Circle of AnimalsSunday morning, my son, husband, and I decided to go into DC to visit the National Air and Space Museum and The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden on the National Mall. My son likes the interactive exhibits at the Space Museum. While he and his dad learned about drag and lift, I relaxed on some benches nursing an aching lower back. (Nothing serious; I think I over did it in yoga the day before.) We walked to the Hirshhorn next and went through the Dark Matters display. The highlight was Ron Mueck’s “Big Man” piece. My son kept pointing to the penis asking why it looked so big. My only answer was that the artist must have been inspired to make it that way.

Next, we walked through the center courtyard where we checked out Ai Weiwei’s Circle of Animals/Zodiac Heads exhibit. In the year of what animal were you born? (My son wasn’t born in the year of the snake. He just thought it was cool and wanted a picture next to it. That’s Dad in the red cap waaay back there under the rabbit’s head.)

Wish Tree Filled (or fulfilled?)Leaving the Hirshhorn, I suggested we walk through the Sculpture Garden to get to The Mall. Normally, we would walk around the garden. Today it enticed me to enter. So we did.

And there it was. A tree with little item tags hanging all over its branches. What in the world was I looking at? I read the display and realized that this is why I came downtown today. I grabbed a pencil and a tag, wrote my wish, and tied it to a branch. Maybe my wish will come true. I hope so.

About the Wish Tree taken from The Imagine Peace Tower website:

Yoko Ono’s interactive artwork WISH TREE (1996) has been integral to many of her exhibitions around the world in museums and cultural centers where people have been invited to write their personal wishes for peace and tie them to a tree branch.

“As a child in Japan, I used to go to a temple and write out a wish on a piece of thin paper and tie it around the branch of a tree. Trees in temple courtyards were always filled with people’s wish knots, which looked like white flowers blossoming from afar. All My Works Are A Form Of Wishing”. ~Yoko Ono

Yoko has collected all the wishes – currently totaling over a million!

They are to be housed at the site of the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER.

Make your own Wish Tree for you and your family and friends.

Namaste!

Category:
Art, Children, Family, Friends, Love, Peace, The Washington Times, Washington D.C., Yoga
Tags:
, , , , ,

Join the conversation! 6 Comments

  1. This is inspiring me to walk out on my regular hills/trails with tags and a pencil and hang up “wishes” randomly through out my walk. Maybe others will then do the same: )

    Reply
  2. I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award to claim this award go to

    http://www.justiceforraymond.wordpress.com

    and follow directions,

    Reply
  3. i can feel your big smile in your writing! that’s awesome about your book and of course your article and finding your voice!!

    Reply

Anonymous comments are accepted. Thank you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,847 other followers

