From http://www.squidoo.com/DomesticViolenceAbuse

Image from Squidoo

What comes to mind when you read or hear the term “domestic violence?” Do you picture a woman being punched and stepped on by her husband? Do you see a woman with tears running from her eyes blackened by his blows? What if I told you that this is just a small part of what domestic violence is? What if I told you that domestic violence also includes emotional abuse and sexual abuse and child abuse?

And what about the process of healing after escaping such an experience? Healing is more than waiting for the bruises to fade. Healing takes time to understand the self blame, shame, resentment, anger, depression, and fear.

And most women (and men) cannot heal alone. It takes the courage and compassion of others to help them through the long journey to discovering themselves and life again. It takes organizations like the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence and The Domestic Abuse Help Line for Men and Women to intervene, educate, and attempt to stop and prevent the abuse, which happens all around us every day.

Moved by the overwhelming responses to my story, The Birth and Evolution of a Narcissistic Sociopath, I have decided not to publish the last parts of the story on the website. Instead, I will self-publish the story and make it available through Amazon.com in eReader format and possibly print-on-demand format for about $5.00 per copy. Up to 30% of the sales will be donated to an as-of-yet-designated domestic violence non-profit organization. (Hopefully, my readers will help me narrow the field.)

Before publishing, I will expand upon all parts of the the story. Each part will include more detailed descriptions of The Boy’s behavior and abuse of the Woman, the Child, and his Friends. I’ll provide helpful resources and checklists for my readers to use for themselves or to share with family members, friends, neighbors, or co-workers trying to free themselves from abuse. Other features are also being considered.

Friends with secrets and perfect strangers with stored emotions have been moved enough by my story to e-mail me and share their own stories of abuse. It’s been therapeutic for so many of us, and I want this domino-type healing effect to continue to spread.

Thank you, readers!

Namaste!

Category:
abuse, Books, domestic violence, Family, Forgiveness, Health, Journaling, Relationships, Self Improvement, Spirituality, Writing
Tags:
, , , ,

Join the conversation! 15 Comments

  1. “Friends with secrets and perfect strangers with stored emotions have been moved enough by my story to e-mail me and share their own stories of abuse. It’s been therapeutic for so many of us, and I want this domino-type healing effect to continue to spread.”

    This is very true. I honestly believe with all my heart that we find strength is hearing the stories of others, it is through them we realize that we are not alone and it is through their words we find hope and love. More of us have to share our story, more of us have to reach out, and more of us have to break through the fog.

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Moved By Faith and commented:
    Here Paula discusses how individuals come together to help support each other as they heal from domestic violence. Thought you may enjoy it too…

    Reply
  3. Paula, would you be ok if I reblogged this on movedbyfaith.wordpress.com? I would give you credit of course!

    Thanks!
    Em

    Reply
  4. You are very brave and your bravery will bring about much healing. I’ve counseled victims of domestic violence, so if you need any help or a sounding board, let me know.

    Reply
  5. Paula, I just read your story. Wow. I am so sorry that you, and the other women, became entangled with this “person.” Thank you for sharing your story.

    Reply
  6. We are behind you and your fight to bring awareness and an end to all domestic violence!

    Reply
  7. All I can say is out of every person in my life it took a stranger I have never met to understand and relate to my pain. Thank you Paula, for your words and for sharing with me.

    Reply

Anonymous comments are accepted. Thank you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,849 other followers

